Founded in 1983, the Association for Informal Logic and Critical Thinking (AILACT) is a non-profit scholarly association which aims to promote research into, teaching of, and testing of informal logic and critical thinking.

It sponsors programs in conjunction with the annual meetings of the Eastern, Pacific and Central divisions of the American Philosophical Association, and has in the past sponsored programs in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Canadian Philosophical Association.

CALL FOR PAPERS:  AILACT invites submissions for the annual AILACT Essay Prize in Informal Logic, Critical Thinking, and Argumentation Theory.  Click here for details.

AILACT is pleased to announce the publication of the Second Edition of Studies in Critical Thinking, edited by J. Anthony Blair. Click the title for more details.

Member Area